Expert judgement is in after stewards penalise Lewis Hamilton with grid penalty

"Where do you go? Damn🎉ed if you d🍷o, damned if you don’t"

Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton

168澳洲5最新开奖结果:Lewis Hamilton haꦆd little option to avoid the incident which cost him a grid penalty, an expert juꦅdgement has claimed.

The Mercedes dr♛iver will start the F1 Dutch Grand Prix from 14th on the grid after stewards penalised him with a three-place grid drop.

He was accused of impeding 168澳洲5最新开奖结果:Sergio Perez during qualifying.

Sky Sports’ Anthony Davidson assessed the incident: “As Perez was called to the weighbridge, as Hamilton 😼comes [past him] faster, his hand goes up in disgust.”

Davidson rewatched replays and explained: “Lewis was on the outside of ✨the corner. He knows Perez is coming up.

“But where do you go? Damned if you🎉 do, damned if you don’t.

“If you go to the inside, you’re on the racing line. You can’t s🐲top the car 🍸on the track.

“Lewis was in a predicament. He was in t꧂he way, and tried his best to get out of the way. But unfortunately ends up on the racing line, on the corner.

“From my experience, I wouldn’t have known 🃏where to put my car in🔯 that situation.

“I re𝔍ally do think it was bad luꦉck that Checo found himself in that situation.

“For Lewis? Apart from throwing his car off the track and driving through t༒he gravel, or just physically stopping, I really don’t know where else he could have gone, i🃏n that moment.

“It’s a strange corner, down at Turn 9.”

Martin Brundle, before the s🦩tewards delivered their verdict, said: “Impeding is impeding. I think he can demonstrate that he did his best to get outꦰ of the way.

“Did Perez need to lift off? Is🌟 another argument that Mercedes will be making.

“Red Bull w🎶ill mak🎉e the argument that he was impeded.”

Hamilton claim💜ed “the timing🔯 was bad” but Perez predicted he would receive a punishment.

Ultimately the stewards opted t💦o penalise Hamilton.

They said: "The driver of Car 44, being on an in lap, was informed by ♛the team that Car 11 was approaching on a fast lap when he entered Turn 8. He then drove off line at the exit of Turn 8 with the intention to giv▨e way for Car 11.

“However,ꦫ when Car 11 arrived, Car 44 had already entered Turn 9 and drove back towards the racing line at th𓃲e exit of Turn 9, thereby clearly impeding Car 11.

"The Stewards determine that, whilst there has been appropriate warning by the team and albeit the driver tried to move out of the way, he could have slowed down more in order not to impede the o⛄ther car and therefore consider the impeding to be unnecessary in the sense of the regulations. Therefore a grid drop is applied in line with previous decisions."

Read More